A Mini Diary

By Peekabob

Icing sugar

We had snow today. Not a lot, but enough to get me really excited ... the garden looked like it was covered in icing sugar!


"I hurried in the restaurant
to have a special treat.
I ordered pancakes covered with
my favorite thing to eat.

It wasn't maple syrup,
not molasses, honey, jam.
I said, "Put heaps and piles
of powdered sugar on it Ma'am."

The food arrived completely coated
with the tasty fluff.
I cut a bite and raised my fork
to gobble up the stuff.

Instead, I goofed-I breathed it in
and quickly had to cough.
My choking blasted
all the luscious pancake topping off.

I blew a powdered sugar storm
that flurried 'round the room.
It snowed on the linoleum-
the waitress got a broom.

It fell on heads like dandruff flakes.
It frosted every light.
It powdered babies' bottoms,
and turned chocolate milk to white.

I blinked, and rubbed my cloudy eyes,
and sneezed a snow-white booger.
I saw my pancakes, and I said,
'I need more powdered sugar!'"

(Sydnie Meltzer Kleinhenz - Powdered Sugar)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.