So special

This is a very terrible photo, from a very stealth video of a really incredibly special day. The year 5 RBS JAs today had their workshop day! We got the 7.45 train to London, arrived just in time to zoom across to Covent Garden and plonk her in the changing rooms. The parents were gathered in the Linden studio and given an introduction to their work for the day as the children came in from getting changed. Katies regular ballet teacher had travelled down to watch them this morning and Katies face when she came in the studio and saw her teacher was adorable.

The parents were offered a tour of the Upper School, which is fascinating. I also got to cross the Bridge of Aspiration, which is something I never thought I would do. I then headed off for my afternoon in the city.

At the end of the day, I took J with me and we went back to the school. We got front row seats! Again, Katies face absolutely exploded when she spotted her. Their group were first to dance. Her teacher had warned me earlier in the day that several others in Katies group were struggling with the choreography but that katie had been working really hard and was looking beautiful. There was a moment of chaos during some interweaving and I saw Katies performance face slip for just a moment as she threw me a Look. It was quite surreal watching her perform in the RBS....

We went from ballet to Js for something to eat and a little play time. She had very clearly had a wonderful day, but it wasn’t until katie and I were on the train home that some of her favourite bits of the day started to tumble out. She had not only got to cross the Bridge, they had gone over it to go into the ROH and watch the full company in Swan Lake rehearsals! She also saw them feeding the pony that we have since deduced is from one of the operas!

As her teacher said to me, if ever there was a kid living their best life.....!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.