Midday Traffic

Close to my hotel.

Walked two kilometers today to a department store, where I bought a new handcarry-suitcase, plus 6 bags of dried mangoes ordered by a former colleague (I'll be reimbursed).  Also bought some crayons for myself, for the colouring books I have at home.  In between all that, had some lunch.  Tried a dish that became popular while I was away and it was spicier than I thought.  Don't know if I want to eat it again, even though it wasn't bad at all.  Just needs more rice next time.  After all of that, walked back to the hotel.  Of course, it was just a matter of rolling the new suitcase along, although I remembered to carry it whenever I had to cross a street.  When I got back, took a shower, then had a nap.  Early in the evening, Mimi passed by and we had dinner together next door.  Mimi is okay and at the same time not okay.  Her joys are short and shallow and allow her to escape her troubles, which are long-haul and deep, for a little while.  She needs long-term solutions, which I can't provide at the moment.

I am feeling quite homesick, actually.  I would like to sleep in my own bed.  India was fabulous and fine.  MNL is not.  And to think I spent the first 27 years of my life here.  Can't wait to leave.  First, though, there's the weekend with Mimi coming up.  In the meantime, AW and I have been chatting every single day, good or bad Internet connections notwithstanding.  I hope the other hotel will have more acceptable facilities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.