Financial District

The architecture is the only thing that wakes up my interest in this place.  There is a continuous to-and-fro of people, vehicles, noise, and food smells, and the ubiquitous heat.

For the first time since I arrived, availed of the breakfast, but it is not something to miss as I find it grossly insubstantial, but then I'm only staying at a 3* establishment and the only reason I chose it (same as last January) is its proximity to Mimi's place.  Mimi came by at around 10.40 and we set out to do what we wanted to do -- supermarket shopping!  She wanted to prepare for the weekend by picking up stuff to bring along to the hotel to avoid plundering the mini-bar.  Actually, it is dangerous to leave food in the room fridge because the energy is turned on when you put your key card in the slot and thus turned off when you leave, and this turns off the fridge as well.  I didn't say a word, though.  There are times when you just need to go along.  After that we returned to the hotel and she went home to drop off the things, after which she came back and we went out for a mid-afternoon lunch next door.  'Next door' is a high-rise apartment complex called 'Rise' with a number of really good eating joints in the commercial part of the lobby.  We went to a restaurant other than the one we ate at previously, and it was 'okay'.

After the very late lunch, she went back home again to get ready for tomorrow and I went to the room and thought I'd take a nap, but the nap didn't happen and I ended up working on the slide show of the recently ended trip to India, my fifth time there, but the slide show will only be the fourth as the third trip slide show isn't done yet.  Well, actually, it is done but I'm unhappy about it so I will do it over another time.

At about 16.00, left the hotel on foot and walked down Ayala Avenue and Paseo de Roxas to take some shots of the new buildings that were built while I was away.  Sometimes, there's a bit of disappointment when you see them so beautiful from a distance and then they display signs of decay, or neglect, or dereliction, when you come closer -- paint flaking off, a bit of concrete crumbling in an unused area, smudges on glass panels, exposed wiring because the steel door to an electrical panel lost its screws, and the general casual approach to it all, so typical here.  The building in the shot is no exception.  I don't need to know what it's called or what it's being used for.

Around 17.30, I was back at the hotel, and didn't leave any more.  Started packing, but spent most of the time working on the slide show till I was satisfied.  It was a short trip, so very doable.  Am sure it'll be done by tomorrow.  Just before bed, went down to the lobby for some Internet so that I could chat with AW.  Again, an unsatisfactory connection, but never mind.  A few more days to go.

THANK YOU for visiting occasionally, and for your comments and stars or hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.