Friday: Lickman Liquor

I had an early start to the day, meeting a delegation from Northern Ireland who have been here looking at how BC handles special education needs.  We had ordered coffee and pastries for them, but when I asked whether any of them wanted tea, about 11 hands shot up.  Apparently, they haven’t had a decent cup of tea all week.  Imagine their delight when I served them Tetley’s tea.

Following that, I headed out to Chilliwack, about an hour and 20 outside Vancouver, where I was due to speak at a Rotary Lunch.  It was held in a pretty soulless hotel on an industrial estate (hence the excitement of this photo).  It was also one of those events that amuses me greatly.  

The demographic was definitely in the 80+ range and the highlight, for me, was the woman playing  the Burt Bacharach songbook on a Hammond organ.  We also sang ‘Somewhere Over The Rainbow’ and ‘Smile’,  before the President told a whole load of jokes involving Scottish, Irish, Welsh and Englishman.  Then it was my turn and that was that.  A day out in the ‘Wack, as my colleague tells me it’s called.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.