What??

New Year.
Lady next door scurries out to accost my husband as he gets car out of garage.
"Have you found a house yet?'"
"No, we'er still looking."
"We are thinking of putting our house on the market, would you like to come and look round?"
"Sorry, we are just going out." But anyway he stepped into the garden and oohed and aahed as the neighbour gushed.
"Maybe some other time."

2 weeks later, we are seriously into house hunting again, after the enforced break over the holidays. Morning: I phone next door. Husband answers.

"Your wife mentioned to my husband that you were thinking of putting your house on the market"
"Oh she did, did she?"
"Oh yes, I hope you knew about it. We were just wondering if you'd had any more thoughts about it."
"No I didn't know, but it isn't the first time she's done this! I'll get back to you, she's eaves dropping now..."
"So sorry ...."

Afternoon: Lady next door phones.

"I hear you've been phoning my husband."
"Yes, I'm sorry if I upset things."
"Oh no, certainly not, he does know all about it. But he's out now, would you like to come round and look at the house?"
Gasp.
"well....er.... not sure ... I don't want to do anything behind his back."
"What do you mean?"
"Well, if he doesn't know you are showing us round."
"I told you, he does know all about it." [again with the emphasis]
"I think I'd rather come when you are both there."
"Why would you? You can come round now."
"Does he know you've asked us?"
Silence. Change of subject. "It's a nice house, very similar to the one you are in. Separate study though."

And so on ... and on ... I declined with the totally true statement that the owners of a house we are interested in have come back to us over lunch and offered us a reduced price. Unexpectedly. "We'll wait to see what happens before looking at yours, no need to trouble you if this goes ahead."
"Huh. Very diplomatic of you."
Phone replaced.

Whichever one of them is telling porkies, I don't want to be in the middle of it, trying to buy their house!

Any ideas what the pic can be? Clue: nothing to do with the above.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.