Grand Hall

... of The Manila Hotel.  The grand event today is that goddaughter Katy visited Mimi (her mother) and me at our 4* place, accompanied by her husband Lawrence and son Neo (not their real names, of course).  She brought along her own external drive so that I could transfer a copy of the latest slide show.  Aside from that, though, we talked about Mimi and her problems and possible solutions and how we could help.  As Katy came just after lunch, we had a lot of time to talk, and then, just after 15.00, I took her and her family to the Manila Hotel for a very, very late lunch.  There was a lot to catch up on, not just about Mimi, and also much to clarify from stories that have been going back and forth through the years.  Some people love to spread rumours and tales, so she and I sifted through all of that.  It wasn't a problematic exercise but it all needed to be verbalized, labelled, and archived, nevertheless.

After eating, we headed back to 'our' hotel.  They hung around longer with Mimi, then she went out to fetch dinner and I kept Katy and family company in Mimi's room.  It was a tad too crowded when Mimi got back, so I bid them all a good night.  I don't know what time Katy & Co. left, but Mimi was glad for the company.  Mimi is close to all her daughters.

Back at the room, some bookkeeping and also, you won't believe it, a MOOC which I began before I left for India, on the musculoskeletal system.  I am learning a lot from these things and it is a great way to fill up one's time, way better than watching television, especially television in this country.  Shortly before going to bed, a short, cozy chat with AW.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.