Departure Date

Shot this in the morning, hours before I checked out.

I had already finished packing except for the laptop and all its tentacles when I decided to check my mail, and there was mail from the Viking, with enclosures -- the affidavit that Jay's solicitor filed on his behalf, requesting the court to have my adverse claim cancelled.  It is frustrating to read something like that, but I knew the Viking wouldn't be ruffled.  I thanked him for the soft copy, and then gave him the number of the hotel and my room number, telling him that I would be leaving the hotel in about an hour.  Within 15 minutes, he phoned and reassured me that Jay is simply engaging in some dilatory tactics.  He's sure Jay knows about the case by now because one does not file an adverse claim without backing it up with something more 'forceful' and Jay's solicitor would have told him so.  The hearing for the counter arguments has been scheduled for Thursday, 16 April.  As far as we know, the Viking can represent me (I don't need to book a flight again).

11.00  Mimi checked out.  Daughter Kara came to help her with the children and the bags.
11.50  Checked out, after which I hung around in the lobby and finished week 2 of the Catalonia MOOC.  The lobby of the hotel is on the 3rd floor.
15.30  Packed up the laptop again and went down to the restaurant for a very late lunch.
16.00  Requested the hotel to order a GRAB car, and it was there in two minutes, so no waiting.  Left for the airport.
16.50  Arrived at the airport.  KLM check-in counters were still closed, but not for long.
17.10  Check-in counters open, and I somehow got bumped up to the shortest line.  Check-in, luggage x-ray, and immigration went quickly.
17.35  In the lounge.  Nice dessert.  Managed to plug in the laptop to top up the battery.  Short chat with AW.
19.40  At the gate.
20.20  Everyone on board.  KL 808 taxied to the runway.  Departure was 15 minutes early.  Plane only 3/4 full, half of the passengers wearing masks, including myself.  I did take it off once I was settled in my seat.
22.15  Stopover in Taipei.  Yes, I did put my mask back on.
23.00  Take-off for Amsterdam.  The corona virus has shadowed this trip from the start.  In India, it wasn't an issue.  In MNL, air pollution has always been at a high level, but fear of the corona has had everyone on edge.  Only one death so far, and all visitors from China have been sent back, with no one allowed to stay overnight.  There were a couple of them who managed to enter by travelling elsewhere first and then pretending to have come from those places, but their itineraries were checked, and they were deported.  Nevertheless, I will be glad to get out of this area for now.  Tomorrow will find me back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.