LifeLines

By LifeLines

Spring Sunshine

Its looking a bit battered for the wind and rain but this little flower, and several like it, have been such a delight to see in the garden today.  They are Lesser Celandine and they grow nestled in the base of the hedge.  In the sunshine, their petals open out.  Then as it light fades, they close up again.  

After many years of living in the city centre of Aberdeen, I moved to the Suffolk countryside.  This was one of the first flowers I saw as the spring emerged from the winter.  I can still remember what a wonderful enriching time it was to experience nature waking all around me - something I'd not witnessed at close proximity for so many years whilst living in the city.  I loved living in Suffolk - I saw so much wildlife from my kitchen window and on my walks. I learned the names of many plants and animals and the songs of many different birds.  Knowledge which I still have and treasure today.

The weather has been better today - some sun and blue sky, although we foolishly managed to time our afternoon dog walk with a downpour.  Andy has been busy in the garage using the new cordless screwdriver to construct one of our new raised beds - it looks good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.