Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Grand Day Out

Wednesday is my lie-in-till-8.30-day for swimming. There are no clubs on at 9m, so there's no rush. In fact, it was lovely and quiet, just three of us in the Slow Lane, and we kept to our own side...

After breakfast Uncle A arrived and we set off for the Kingdom of Fife. Uncle A knew of an outdoorsy shop in a wee country town, and they were offering on sale a winter jacket that he quite fancied. I thought it was rather a long way to go to buy a jacket, as they are for sale in Edinburgh, no doubt even cheaper, but we were out for a jaunt as well, hopefully to see some snow.

And yes, we did. Fife is covered in the stuff. It was difficult to stop on wee country roads, so the lovely trees and snowy furrowed fields are just a memory, not a blip.

We duly stopped in at the shop and it was a goodie. I bought a pair of wellies! I've been looking out for a pair, well, as much as I look out for any item of clothing, ie hoping it will fall in my lap without the bother of going into shops. There they were. Purple. But a subdued, subtle purple. I tried them on. I kept them on. Uncle A got his jacket. Result!

We had lunch in Falkland where we always have lunch. In fact, Uncle A has been bringing people there for lunch for decades. You would think there was just the one eating establishment in the town, but indeed it's packed with them!

However, it now has my undying loyalty, because not only did it have an open fire and NO muzak, it had bread and butter pudding! I haven't had a decent any bread and butter pudding since this one, in May last year.

I thought it would be uncouth to skip the soup and go straight to the pudding, so lentil soup was eaten, but I'd already put my pudding order in. It was delicious! Uncle A had one as well. What a great wee tearoom!

We agreed to meet later at the car, as I wanted to walk round the town to see if there were any blips. I deliberately walked along the slushy gutters and stomped through deep snowy drifts like child. Just because I could. In my new wellies.

Uncle A was a wee bit late. Then I saw him coming, walking quite briskly. He could see I was waiting. Oh, he's put his new jacket on. And he's changed his flat cap. Is it Uncle A? Yes, he's smiling at me. He's crossing the road and coming over. He's changed into his wellies too. And what's that bag he's carrying? The Man Who Wasn't Uncle A then greeted me and we agreed on what nice weather it was, and he walked on. He was very very like him!

For a couple of minutes I thought I had developed that disease where you don't recognise people you know, but I had the opposite version, where you recognise people you don't know! Either that or I'm more short sighted than I thought, which is not very.

On the way home I could see those big smoking funnels, I think they're in Lochgelly. Then we came near the windfarm I can see from Blackford Hill. There was a parking place just up ahead, so I could screech safely to a halt and nab a blip. I used my on camera flash to give a bit of light to the hedge, rather unsuccessfully.

A grand day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.