Photographic Poeticisms

By TerryRhiannyr

The Road


Show me the road
That leads from cruel Winter
Show me the road
So it I might follow

Show me the way
To leave behind hardship
Show me the way
To understand false friendship

Show me how
My life I might rebuild
Show me how
This barren waste might be tilled

Show me the reason
My life has been a blight
Show me the reason
I know not, though try as I might

Show me a smile
On a face rather than a frown
Show me a smile
And let me call it my own

Show me a freedom
That I might grasp in hand
Show me a freedom
A peace over this fettered land

Show me any of these
Or show me none at all
Show me any of these
Before the cleaving axe does fall

Show to me a something
But promise me not a thing
Show to me a something
Rather than an empty vessel's ring

Show to me your truth
No matter what it might be
Show to me your truth
For only then might I see

Friendship's road
Through wasteland reborn
Freedom's smile
And a life lived without scorn


Terry Rhiannyr (Terry Reader)
January, 2013

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.