Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Fred

Fred allowed me to tour his home today.  The entire structure is little more than tarps and cardboard, with some blankets for insulation.  It's a one room structure that Fred shares with a friend.  On a corner street that cars speed past without a glance.  There isn't much by way of curb appeal, I suppose, and Fred said nobody ever stops by and he generally likes it that way.  Out of the way and out of the minds of others.  It's easier that way.  

Fred is 60 years old and has lived on the streets for 3 years.  No place to go.  He was glad to show me around and recognized me when I asked for a photo.  The guy with the camera - Fred knew me.  Once he remembered me, he talked a lot about his life in the box house.  He told me he thinks this will be where he is for the rest of his life.  I told him I'd bring a photo back for him soon.

City councilors will be voting on a sit-lie ordinance next week.  Fred would no longer be able to sit or lie on the sidewalk during daylight hours.  This is America.  Sit-lie laws are the best we can do?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.