Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2020 Sunday — Celebrating

Today was our annual tax appointment. It is a day that I look forward to simply because all the paper shuffling has been completed. When the appointment concludes, the “getting ready” that I do every year for this event is over.

So as we walked out of our CPA’s office, I looked at Mr. Fun and said, “I want to celebrate this moment with pie!” So we went to our local Polly’s Pies restaurant. We enjoyed a late lunch, actually an early dinner, and I concluded my meal with a piece of lemon meringue pie. Delicious!

The bonus of our day is that we do not owe money to the fed, nor to the state. Relief!

For me 2020 really begins right about now.

The reason I do all the preparation for this is because I manage our finances. Mr.Fun is not at all attracted to budgets or fiscal planning. When we were newly weds and I didn’t even know how to write a check, he was struggling with paying the bills and balancing the checkbook. He was so miserable that I knew I could do it with less struggle; plus I was desperate to feel like I was an adult and be responsible. Now I know that being a responsible adult is way over-rated.

But anyway, as I was sorting paperwork and crunching numbers all of yesterday, Mr. Fun spent at least half of his day assembling two nightstands that I had purchased on the Internet for the guest room. I thought they would arrive assembled. Nope! So he was as busy as I was! and assembling furniture is not really his forte.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.