The second half of life..

By twigs

Getting closer

After going to bed last night thinking of star trails I decided that I would have another go. Afterall, why did I buy a replacement remote cord in Te Anau?

At about 2.00am I got up, headed out to my chosen position a whole 3 metres from the van, set the camera up for a 60 minute shot then headed back to the van for a bit more sleep (and believe me, walking a mere 3 metres in pitch black without the use of a torch to help was no mean feat!)

An hour later I got up, collected the camera, had a quick look at the result - quite pleased - then back to sleep happy in the knowledge that my blip for today was done and dusted before half the world had even arrived at today!

I edited when I got up and it was then that I really noticed how noisy the image is. Whilst this is disappointing I've now read a bit more about how others have dealt with the noise issue and am very happy to add that learning to my current learning - next time will be even better :) Besides, the graininess adds a certain quality to it don't you think?

The rest of the day was pretty much driving, stopping, driving, resting, driving and driving. I made it to Lake Mahinapua just south of Hokitika before giving in to the need for real rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.