Madhatter

By Madhatter

What sold first?

The chicken or the egg? Neither were in Waitrose in Saffron Walden! 

I went to my first ‘CRAP’ meeting today ( I think it stand for CReative and Artistic People! ) in Saffron Walden today, and went for some shopping afterwards. It took me back 30 years to when I was on my year abroad in the USSR as the fall of communism happened! My joy at finding a bottle of liquid soap today was exactly the same as I felt when finding a bottle of vinegar in a russian shop in 1990. I remember checking my dictionary in my handbag as I couldn’t quite believe what I was seeing, as hadn’t seen any for the whole time I was there, and wanted to make sure I wasn’t buying something non edible. 
 Dorsetb will probably remember how long it took for me to adjust to being able to buy oranges, and multiple ones at that when I got back. Very strange emotions evoked today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.