Clinic

You wouldn't have guessed, but this is a clinic for alternative medicine in a tiny village called Ouddorp, province of South Holland.

Today, I got out of the house.  A good friend and now ex-colleague, Micky, has shingles, on top of many, many other things ... but not the corona! ... and needed to go to this clinic for her appointment.  I offered to drive her there as she is absolutely in no shape to drive, either from the pain or from the effect of the painkillers.  Left the house at 09.20 and arrived at her place in Numansdorp at 10.05, right on time.  It is quite a way away, and her appointment was at 12.00.  We were there by 11.30, and as it was not busy, she was allowed to go in by 11.45.  Went outside and took pictures, read the magazines, and fell asleep while waiting.  She was done by 13.20.  After that, we drove the long way back and detoured to Willemstad, where we had coffee for her and tea and cake for me.  She has developed allergies for many yummy things like cake, cheese, milk, many carbs, ALL the spices, some fruits, some vegetables, some nuts.  However, she can eat a good-sized steak ... as long as it is fried in olive oil and is unseasoned, and she can eat a plain salad, no dressing.  She knows how all this forbidden food tastes so she is sometimes very, very frustrated.  Now, she has to stay home, in regular pain, so life isn't much fun for her at the moment.  Her next appointment in Ouddorp is on Tuesday next week, and I'll be driving her again.

We were thankful the weather made us feel great!  I was happy to be able to take a decent outdoor shot after two weeks of staying indoors.  I look forward to driving Micky again next week, and I believe the week after that there's another scheduled appointment.

Started a new MOOC today ... on Australian history!  It is actually a kind of starter-MOOC for an entire Australian history program, which I don't intend to take, one of the reasons for which is the exorbitant price that the University of Newcastle is charging.  This starter-MOOC is free, meaning that it falls under the blanket subscription I bought last year, and that's fine with me.

At least today's post isn't grey.  Thanks for bearing with me.  I hope you are all doing okay despite the circumstances.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.