Letstryit

By Marietha

Another feathered friend!

This Cape White Eye (zosterops pallidus) fell out of the nest just after it hatched. I cannot remember exactly when (about 4 years ago?) My friend's husband picked it up and she brought it to me to raise. This little bird was about as big as my thumbnail when I received it. Nobody believed that I would be able to raise it. I took this small little bird to our business every day and fed it every 10 to 15 minutes. When she got bigger she used to sit in my hair and thought it was her little nest. She really got attached to my husband David and she even let's him scratch her little head every morning when he puts food in her cage. Every morning she gets fruit which is cut in small small pieces. We also give her handrearing food every morning. I wonder what a little small bird like 'kleintjie' ( it means small in Afrikaans) life span is. Perhaps somebody knows. Please let me know. Sorry for all the bird blips but they are my favourite.

Just for interesting sake, my bAfrican Grey Parrot, Reggie sits on my arm every evening when I blip. Suppose she wants to check whether I am doing the right thing. (only one of my lots of parrots and birds)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.