Disturbing

I'm walking in the woods, off the paved paths, and I'm disturbing the animals. I'm pretty sure the ducks that flew off squawking were complaining that I was lowering the property values. The deer wanted to know why I was out of my lane. 

I woke up very early this morning - at least I'm getting to sleep. I thought of RobBris50 and how I've always admired his sunrises and here I was, up early enough to see the beautiful morning light. 

The trees seem taller lately. I have no idea why, I am sure it indicates something deeply psychological. I would guess it means I feel smaller in the scheme of things. Dreaming? 

I was thinking about what I wrote yesterday and it could use additional framing. There are people saving us by staying away - they are helping humanity by doing the most unnatural thing of isolating themselves. Then there are people who are keeping the rest of us going. They are our farmers, our medical professionals, our trash collectors, our delivery people, the folks who stock our grocery shelves, and the people who keep the utilities on. They are the people who will get the rest of us through. 

I understand that things are going to get unimaginably bad but I am so relieved, and .... astounded that the US government will be sending people bailout money. It won't help everyone of course, directly, but it will help many. 

We may have won one of the proposals I worked on. Doing the work involves going to another country. The work needs to be completed nearly before it begins, rush, rush, rush. Now we have to figure out when we can do it given that no one knows when travel bans will be lifted. One of our team has a number of things happening this summer which will cause her to simply not be available a couple of times. I sadly told her that I didn't think any of us would be traveling this summer. 

It will be odd for many of us, myself included, to transition from the life where everything is so urgent and must be done immediately to where it clearly doesn't, because we aren't going anywhere. 

Thinking of framing, I think we will increasingly hear stories of people helping other people. Hmmm. The story of all the people in hell, unable to eat because their spoons are too long to be able to get the food into their mouths, and the people in heaven, all feeding each other with these crazy long spoons. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.