Remember the sun can still shine

It’s a beautiful day.

I’m so lucky to live in a pretty and friendly part of the world. 

I learned that when I was recovering from each of my hip replacements in turn. I walked every day (in the rain often after my second one). A slightly different route each day, and for a little bit further each day.

I thought back to that time as I walked alongside the fields full of sheep and lambs, and past several blue plaques of the Burntwood Heritage Trail. My blip is of Fulfin Cottage which qualifies for such a plaque. 

People here are helpful and friendly. And today people are respectfully and sensibly crossing the road when they see another person - but not to approach and greet, to distance themselves, to ensure a sensible space. Calling out, “no offence” or some such observation with a smile, it doesn’t feel rude but very much the reverse. 

When I got home I made a note on the list I used to keep for my gym activities. Date: route and approximate distance. I don’t feel so lazy and maybe when it isn’t such a pretty morning, it will be a motivator. 

And for anyone needing a Furbie fix, here she is : who cares about Coronavirus when there’s sunshine to lie in and Grumpy Cat to beat up ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.