Please

Dear Blippers,

It is 8:32 in the morning and I am sitting at the table with NSLLDC. He is busy doing his maths homework. LDC is upstairs working in his office. Had it been a normal Monday morning, NSLLDC and I would have been sitting in traffic crawling to school and listening to rap songs. BUT it is not a normal Monday morning. We are  living hard times and unfortunately, not all of us understand how hard they are.

Yesterday, evolybab posted a picture which can become the symbol of a new campaign “I’m responsible for all of us and our wellbeing”. Here’s another one. I’m with her. 

I don’t want to scare you, but let me tell you that I might have an insight into this awful cv19  that you don’t. I’m italian. I know. I’ve got family and friends and family and friends of friends who are living through a nightmare. My cousin, a healthy middle aged guy, has been confined in bed for 11 days with a high temperature, 39.5. Luckily, he seems to be better now. It’s his 5th day without a temperature today. We’re all very happy. He is exhausted, though. My brother has finished his quarantine now. He was in the north for work a couple of weeks ago. No symptoms, luckily. My friend C, whose father have family in Brescia, near Milan, told me this morning that his father’s cousin is in hospital, intubated. His wife and daughter isolated at home. My friend V’s daughter’s parents in law are both intubated in one of Florence hospital. She says there’s very little hope to save them. In this case, a seven year old boy might lose two grandparents on the same day.

And unlike what you might be thinking (Italians are irresponsible, lazy, stupid, whatever), we have taken this situation very seriously. And yet, only yesterday 651 people died. Yes, 651 people died in one day, guys. And it’s not just elderly people. It’s everybody. 

Please, stay at home. I appreciate it is hard, but we have to work together and forget for once our selfishness for our mutual wellbeing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.