Ennastrebor

By Ennastrebor

Penfold Post Box

Today I anticipated lockdown was imminent so I drove to Fareham to take some personal items to my mum's care home for her. We haven't been allowed in for a week now, so called ahead and left them outside the main door. (They've set up Face Time sessions so I had a 'chat' with her yesterday and this morning.) I then went onto Gosport to leave some flowers for my dad at the cemetery.
I knew there was this Victorian pillar box outside of the old Gosport Railway Station and decided it would be today's blip. Queen Victoria used to travel to Osborne House on the Isle of Wight via Gosport Railway station. 
I found out that of these original mark one Penfold post boxes there are only twenty left and still in use, and Gosport has one of them. Cheltenham apparently have seven!
I have attached a link for further information. Post box can be found under Objects.
In view of tonight's news, I chose the right day to go!

https://historicgosport.uk/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.