Inspiration

Some days you absolutely do not want to run. At all. Today was one of those days. Thankfully, I had a tool in my hat (is that even a saying?). Very recently, I heard something that really spoke to me.

One day I might not be able to run.
Today is not that day.


I dread the day that I will be unable to run. So much so, that I feel lucky that I can do something I love. Even on a day like today, I feel lucky. So I ran in the hail and rain and sleet.

It's becoming more and more evident to me these days that strong legs, good lungs and a healthy heart are not enough. You have to have that determination, motivation and love.

Having an inspirational saying or mantra is really beneficial to motivation (even though sometimes they are cheesey!). Apparently, the Sanskrit word mantra literally means 'instrument for thinking'. They provide focus to direct your mind away from negative thoughts and towards positive ones.

Last year when I was marathon training, mine was it doesn't matter how slow you go, as long as you do not stop. That was what I needed then, but now it's not enough, it's too negative for who I am now.

Today's inspirational mantra will get me through the training, but I'm going to have to have a think about what'll help me through the next race in April!

This shot is an attempt to capture the rain in Holyrood Park when I finished my run.

Exercise: 6.5 mile run
January running mileage: 90 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.