Out and About

By LeslieBigos

My daily hike

I have done this hike daily for the past 40 days. Only 10 minutes from my household, the trail is well maintained and is challenging -- 1100' in elevation gain. I feel safe here, even if I am hiking alone. There is a comfortable distance between groups but someone will come along and help if I turn my ankle.

My sister has always enjoyed the gym but with her gym closed, she's been meeting me here and we often do the hike together. It's actually been a good bonding experience for us. She is isolated at home as her husband is quite vulnerable.

This area was once a mineral mine. At the top of this road is an earthen dam  which holds the mine's tailings. It is the largest earthen structure built in the State of Washington.


Today, I heard a chorus of frogs near a pond. I guess it is mating season.


Soon, there will be wildflowers blooming and the hillsides will be green.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.