yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

Yellow Hammer

There have been very few birds around in our gardens, lately.  We have seen quite a few Yellow Hammers feeding underneath the neighbour's feeder in the last 2 days. This is a new sighting and it took us a while to identify them but the markings on the head in this photo helped. It was taken through our window so not as clear as I would like. I went outside but every time I got a good look a tractor or car went past scaring them off.  I cleaned out and disinfected our feeder hoping to see some birds around it soon. Some great tit pairs have been inspecting the bird nesting box but haven't settled in. Must not have liked the restaurant. Hopefully, some clean fresh feed will help.
I spent the day making spring rolls as I told Hubby mine were better than the Vietnamese restaurant. I had to make the wrappers as well as I can't  get them locally and the Czech border is closed (there is a Chinese supermarket there). I had some rice paper wrappers so used some to compare with the home made ones. I am not sure the difference is worth the effort. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.