Igor

By Igor

high wire act

Anniemay has been looking enviously up at this scene for a number of days now; "I wish I had a washing line like that".  


Today she has.  Well, not quite like that one.  A rotary line, that does not rotate, but fixes to the wall instead.  (See extras).

For my exercise routine today I attempted to drill 4 large bolt holes into the brick wall in our courtyard.  My somewhat puny electric drill gave up, just before my even punier body did.  

I was about to call the emergency line to Chris, but then happened to see two of our builder friends on site.  From a safe distance of least 2 meters they passed over a drill that would not look out of place on a Hollywood action movie.

With the thing pressed against my chest, the wall surrendered in about 30".  I followed not long afterwards.

The last time I felt something like that surging through my body, was in hospital with someone leaning over me shouting "stand clear"  to the people behind.

So this afternoon Anniemay has been "hanging the washing out".  I imagine that buried deep in a film archive somewhere is a grainy black and white film of a similar scene accompanied by a Morris Dance tune.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.