Escape artist (Day 1789)

Last night I got a phonecall from the folk who live next to the yard in Stromness saying "Your big horse has escaped". I was out the house and on my way to the yard in around a minute, making an absolutely essential journey.
I arrived to find George happily standing amongst the new daffodils and grazing along the road verge. I walked up to him and put a lead rope round his neck and he dragged me back to the field. It looked like he had been leaning on a bit of fence which he had managed to fold down enough for him to step over. I started to make repairs until  my beautiful wife  arrived and we made the decision to shut the horses in the shed overnight.
This morning, once HV had returned from work, we made our way to the yard to let the horses out and sort the fence. I spent a while erecting an electric fence which should stop George from breaking out again. While HV and I worked we let the horses graze on the grass around the yard and as usual, George found the most difficult grass to get to was definitely the most appetising.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.