bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

From Top of Weets Hill

...this is a walk I can do from my front door...and as you can see , on very isolated paths!
When walkers refer to The 3 peaks they usually mean the National ones of Ben Nevis, Scafell Pike and Snowdon. Or even more commonly The Yorkshire 3 Peaks of Wernside, Ingleborough and Pen y Ghent. BUT.....Lancashire has it's 3 peaks too... Pendle, Bouldsworth and Weets ....all walks I can do from home now, but Pendle is " shut" as it's the most popular/ known about from The "Witches "history which I love.
Weets is not only the nearest to home now ....but by far the best panoramic views. You can actually sit on top and look across to other 2 Lancashire peaks, all 3 Yorkshire Peaks, across to Longridge Fells and Blackpool Tower.....even up to Langdales. A good place for a quiet butty and some head space. On the summit are laid some quite touching memorial stones. ...but my favourite is a brass plaque that just says.... " Under this sod, lies another" ...his name was Jimmy. I always tip it a wink when I get to the top there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.