Adagio for Mandy

My sister made this wall hanging for my last birthday and I received it shortly after we returned from our stay in Cornwall in January.

She passed away around midday today. Her daughter, my niece, was able to be with her at the end. I'm very glad that was possible. She will now have to self isolate for 14 days and this just after she had recovered from symptoms of covid-19 herself.

My sister had become quite expert at craft needlework, a skill she worked hard to develop and she probably became nearly as skilled as our mother. I I thought a photograph of this piece would make a suitable tribute to my sister.

It seem wrong that the youngest of us, six years my junior, should be the first to go. It just shows how terrible this illness is and I hope everyone who reads this will work even harder to stay inside and keep themselves safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.