Lockdown: Day 16

There was no walk after lunch today because I had my click and collect order to pick up in Kendal. The roads were as quiet as I can ever remember them. A police car was positioned on the northbound side of the Staveley bypass. Reports later on news websites indicate that some vehicles from out of the county (including a campervan from Devon) were stopped, turned around and told to go home.





Today’s ramblings follow, again not of the walking type. 

We drove into Sainsbury’s car park and did a full circuit with no indication of a click and collect point. There was a home delivery van parked near the shop entrance but no sign of anyone there. On the second circuit we realised that was it. 

There were a lot of cars in the car park …… many more than I’ve seen there previously, yet  everyone who approached the entrance was going straight in. Glad I wasn’t one of them.

 After sitting in the car for a while because there were problems with their technology I was asked for my name and the order was brought out of the van. I’d received an email with details of a few substitutions, though most of the order I’d marked as do not substitute. When asked if there were any of the changes I didn’t want I said no. It was only when I was loading the bags of groceries into the car that I realised they had substituted two tiny (175 ml) bottles of wine with two 2.25 litre boxes ….. and charged me. Under their substitution policy I should receive an online voucher for the difference redeemable against a future order. It seemed too late to do anything about it but part of me feels guilty about taking something of a much greater value than what was ordered. But what was the person picking the order thinking? A small bottle of a different wine would have been fine, or a standard bottle. But a box equivalent of three bottles !!!!!!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.