Round robin

I tried to photograph another bird, but the robins were the only ones that perched still for long enough. I had half a starling in focus, but it wasn't the best half.

For today's big bird watch I saw 2 woodpigeon, 2 feral pigeons, 2 robins, 2 house sparrows, 1 starling, 1 great tit and 1 blue tit. So, a couple more species that yesterday, but a few less of a couple of individual species. It's been fun to have an excuse to stare out the back window all day. I managed to do some work, too.

I've been looking after the fantastic cat upstairs for the weekend. Evie's very chatty and likes to drink water from a running tap. She will also climb up only my lap or shoulders at every opportunity, which is lovely. Whisky doesn't do tactile displays of affection, apart from the odd, quick buff around dinnertime. I joked with Fred that we should swap cats so we that could have a lap cat, then we went back downstairs ... but our door was open and it had been only slightly ajar before. We checked the flat for Whisky, but there was no sign. I opened the door to upstairs and Evie didn't come running, nor did she meow (she always makes a noise). Ah. Sure enough, I spied Whisky on the first landing. He'd snuck in - he probably couldn't resist hearing our voices in another cat's territory. I herded him downstairs and left Evie to reclaim her home. Whisky is twice her size and although he's a woos puss, he's probably quite intimidating. Pesky cat. He has his back turned to me - I think I've been put on the naughty step.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.