Not what it appears

Today has been a frustrating day in trying to start my Lightroom and Photoshop training. My software and the classroom in a book have a different set of screens. Will start again tomorrow when fresh.

This image was more of a play around between episodes of swearing at my computer screen.

I said the extra yesterday was a tease but annejohn and HClaireB got very close and yes Marfa, Texas and Donald Judd win the points. I was hoping one of you would have said it is not a photo and you would have won first prize. It’s a fake created by virtual reality software. So there is not only fake news but also fake images. I also have to admit that this was from a video my son created to show the change from day to night as part of some training he was doing at home this weekend.

To me his video looked very real. It reminded me of a conversation with my uncle over 15 years ago who had worked in production design in films. At the time he was very dismissive of what was created by computers. In his opinion the sets he created were more real, for example , building a Moscow Street on a film lot outside Madrid. When watching the film you really thought it was a Moscow Street but on reflection it really was virtual.

So what is a real image and what has been computer generated?

PS my son has refused to try and train me on this software given my ineptitude with Lightroom and Photoshop.

Stay safe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.