cupcakes and jellytots

By featherduster

"as fair art thou, my bonnie lass"

The finished result!! :) My take on a Scottish classic dessert - Cranachan!

The snow has all but disappeared now - it was like waking up in a whole other world this morning!

Burns Supper was a success! Feeding 8 people took a crazy amount of haggis, neeps and tatties but it all tasted amazing! Thanks Lyndsay for taking control of the main course! Slight over-whisk (rule number 1 in the baking do not's!) on the cream led to an almost successful cranachan but for a first attempt I was quite impressed with my effort!

Seeing as it was a Burns Supper, best to quote the man himself with my favourite poem of his which the male voice choir 'Only Men Aloud' turned into a song! It's a repeat button favourite!

"my luve is like a red, red rose
That's newly sprung in June.
My luve is like a melodie,
that's sweetly played in tune."

"As fair art thou, my bonie lass,
So deep in luve am I.
And I will luve thee still my dear,
Till a' the seas gang dry."

"till a' the seas run dry my dear
And the rocks melt with the sun.
And I will love thee still, my dear
While the sands o' life shall run."

"and fare-thee-weel, my only luve,
And fare-thes-weel a while!
And I will come again my dear
Thou' 'twere ten thousand mile!"

# My luve is like a red, red rose - Robert Burns #

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.