BRIANW

By BRIANW

A Bluebell Wood, Eccles

Yesterday was the run so today was the early morning walk. It was yet another gorgeous morning, if a bit on the cold and frosty side but I didn't mind that one bit. Just had to pop on my big coat and scarf and get myself out there.
Today I went with my brother and almost by chance we found an unbelievably beautiful little bluebell wood, probably no more than two or three acres in size.
 When I got back home I found out some of the other names for bluebells - Cuckoo's Boots, Lady's Nightcap and Witches' Thimbles! Another interesting fact is bluebell colonies are very fragile, they take five to seven years to grow from seed to flower. It's also illegal to intentionally pick, uproot or destroy them. Luckily, the bluebells in my image are the native kind and not the invasive Spanish variety which are beginning to take over in this country.
We felt so blessed to see such a stunning sight today, especially as we were not expecting to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.