gingernan

By GingerNan

Christchurch restart 2013

I found this article yesterday which surprised me. Lonely Planet announced the top 10 cities to visit in 2013........and at number 6..........
Christchurch
Rising from the rubble with flair
Best for: Culture, events, family

Pop-up shipping-container shopping centre in Cashel St.
New Zealand's 'Garden City' is rising from the rubble created by devastating earthquakes in 2010 and 2011 with a breathtaking mix of spirit, determination and flair. With a unique opportunity to rethink urban form, Christchurch is bouncing back with a new energy and inventiveness. Foodies will be surprised by the variety of what is on offer, from Burmese to Turkish to local specialities, live-music venues have popped up all over the place, and innovative artworks fill empty demolition sites. 2013 will be an intriguing year to join the rebirth.

I had not spent any time in the central city for a long time, so my daughter, grandies and myself today made an effort to have a look. It is fantastic. I was blown way by the colours, design...and mostly made from shipping containers. music, lots lovely food, fresh fruit, bread, and it was only Monday morning......
This article, and what I experienced made me proud to be a Cantabrian......


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.