An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

A different native bee

I am having difficulty identifying this one - this is the third small native bee that I have seen on my mint flower, but I really don't know what sort it is. All have been quite different from each other - this one is less than half the size of a regular European bee and would crawl around the flower for a bit, then do something interesting with it's back legs (a sort of preening motion, maybe transferring pollen?). This bee has six white bands on it's abdomen and has a kind of golden sheen to it under it's wings.

I chose this particular shot because of it's neck - if you look LARGE, you will see that it looks like it has a collar on or has been tagged! I'm sure it can't have been and is some natural bee-neck sort of thing, but I think it looks ever so strange and is straight lines where you wouldn't expect any... (do scientists tag bees like this? I don't know how they could - it's very small!)

Any ideas?

And thank you to everyone for all the lovely comments and hearts and stars for my blue banded bee a couple of days ago - my most popular blip yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.