Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sofa Day! (Day 36)

Sunshine, but still that chilly east coast breeze, which even swooped through our hedge protected front garden. Looks nice from inside the flat. I did go out to the back garden and hang the washing out (and to bring it in) but that was my total activity for the day. JR did not pester me to get moving after yesterday’s exertions, so I made the most of it.

While she and Archie were out, I watched the 1990 Scotland/England rugby match (recorded) where Scotland famously won. I say ‘famously’ because it’s quite an unusual occurrence. Terrible TV quality, terribly short shorts, but I do remember my father sending me newspaper clippings of the event when I was in NZ. The series is called ‘Scotland’s Rugby Classics’. This was the first of what I can only assume is a very short series...

JR took Archie to the Hermitage, much the best place to go to be sheltered from the wind. When she came home she went for a run while I gave Archie a quick trim.

Another huge temporary field hospital opened in Glasgow today, costing £43 million, the latest one of (at least) ten across the country, and it is hoped none of them have to be used (you don’t hear any news about usage) but -what a lot of money! On the one hand they’re ramping up hospital facilities, while telling us we’re ‘flattening the curve’ and the worst is over. 

449 deaths today - the lowest for a fortnight.

Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.