Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A wee adventure

Swimming this morning was very busy initially, but ended up just me in the Slow Lane for my last 10 minutes! It was lovely. I charged up the middle of the lane with gay abandon. In fact, I timed myself and went as fast as I could. 31 seconds. When I started a couple of months ago it was about 45 seconds. But of course I couldn't keep that up. I resolved to stay in till somebody else came, then began to panic that I'd turn into a prune. Luckily someone came.

While in the pool, I decided to spend my day catching up with emails / doing the housework that JR spotted hadn't been done last week/ arranging holidays / having a wee adventure. On a bus. Prestonpans popped into my head. I could not get Prestonpans out of my head. And so Prestonpans it was to be. It is a town of many murals.

I checked where the Prestonpans buses left from. The X26 left from Waterloo Place. The X buses mean not many stops. I arrived at the said bus stop. There were only two buses that came that way. Both Xs. The timetable was sparse to say the least. In fact, there were only 5 times listed, and all of them after 5pm. Must be a misprint.

Another passenger arrived and put down his rucksack. He'll know. He's obviously waiting for one of these sparse buses.

No. He was not.
'Ah've nae idea hen, I'm just here for a beer. Yer no' allowed tae drink on the street, so ah'm jest usin' the bus shelter.'

It was about 10.30am...

I left him to his beer quite sharpish, and located the correct bus stop and was soon on my way. I do enjoy a bus ride. With my iPod on. I noted that Musselburgh still had its Christmas decorations up, lol. Mind you, I'm one to talk - I noticed several trumpeting angels still hanging on the bathroom window just the other day.

Actually, when I got to Prestonpans I couldn't decided where to get off - it's quite long - and I was soon right out the other side. So I jumped off at the next stop. Cockenzie harbour. I recognised it as I've had a poke around there before.

However, it was grey and blowing a hooley on the harbour. No shots there. There was a man fiddling about on his boat. I had passed him and had a wee chat. I went back and asked if I could take some photos. His name was Ken. He had a fantastic face. He was happy for me to climb up his ladder (that's it in the shot, tied to the boat) and shoot away while he worked fiddled around. He's doing the boat up. There was no engine, nothing at all in the wee cabin, so he's got a very good time/money consuming little hobby there.

Got home just as the rain came in buckets. I wonder if Ken called it a day, or was sitting in his little cabin, still working fiddling. I told him I'd come back in the spring and see how he's getting on. But thanks Ken. You did turn my day into a bit of an adventure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.