Sunset silhouettes ....

Another dry sunny but chilly day.
Kev on mucking out and bedding again.
Me on bagging up sheep feeding again. The home mix consists of rolled oats/ barley , sugar beet pulp, minerals and a 34% protein blend . Have started a different bin of barley and it must be drier than the last one as the mix is now very stoorie. So now when I go to the shops and I’m coughing my lungs up as usual I’ll get plenty of social distance !
Brought in some more of the recently calved cows and tagged their calves. One cow was going a bit slow so put her in the crush and milked her out to see what was wrong. Turns out she has mastitis in one tit and another quarter might be going the same way. Put a couple of antibiotic tubes up the 2 teats and gave her a jag of pen strep. Shut them in a shed as she will need a course of 3-4 days to hopefully cure things.
When I went to check the calving cows last night, Mrs F and Littlemiss were out in the next door field walking the dogs . Littlemiss took this photo of me and the cows round the feed ring .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.