my girl

Inspired by a question from Mountainbrew regarding the beloved slanty tree, Eve and I headed off with the Woodland Trust app to finally determine exactly what the tree is. I’ve always suspected it’s a hawthorn and after much examination and consulting the app.... I still suspect it’s a hawthorn. Turns out I truly am a lawyer and I’m unwilling to state it with any confidence until I’ve instructed 3 independent experts and scrutinised their findings.

We headed further up Doctor’s Gate and admired dramatic skies and I admired this girl. Amazing conversation unfolds up away from the world and we ended up talking about the road to Emmaus in a way I’d never thought of it before. Eve said she’d be scared if Jesus turned up on our walk out of nowhere but later at bedtime remembered that Aslan was scary but totally good. She lifted my spirit after a very political day “at work”.

Gratefuls:

1. My sister who was born this day and the fact we managed to see her (from a distance of course);
2. Zeke’s version of chivalry - he waited until it was time for me to finish work and came up to ask very sweetly if I’d join him in the lounge where he had spent ages prepping his Mario game and saving up all of the little prizes and what-not so that I’d have the best chance of finishing a level with him. In his world, Super Mario is very important so this felt like an act of true love;
3. Eve made the most sublime macaroons. I can’t believe she made them! They were pink raspberry-filled and reminded me of Rainette who made some for Hamp5on’s baby shower. I lost control around them so she’s now planning to make more so that she can perfect the art - they were rustic which I liked but she wants to perfectly pipe the next lot.

And for honesty’s sake.... I’m distinctly ungrateful for foul moods, ratbag behaviour, crumbs everywhere and a moulting depressive moggy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.