Sonset25

By Sonset25

Lockdown - Forget-Me-Not

Yesterday had sad news that a friend, Wendy in Notts had died of cancer.  I knew she was to have an operation at the beginning of the year.  I rang her husband who informed me that cancer had been discovered and possibly secondaries had resulted in pneumonia.  I didn't want to distress by probing. My last conversation with Wendy, she was very frightened and she'd not had the cancer diagnosis. Maybe she had a strong intuition.
The news has taken the wind out of my sails. We met through an online message board offering support and found mutual support as our situations were so similar and decided to meet in person. We helped each other stay strong and on track, when we were finding familial and statutory support was nonexistent. Over the years we discovered similar interests in food, books, films and love of animals. She was a feisty, compassionate, sensitive woman.  I will miss her. 
Wendy's mother also died 5 days before. Poor Mike has in this time of covid19, to grieve, two funerals to organise and clear his mother-in-law's home.  Terrible time.
You just don't know what's round the corner.
Stay safe everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.