The Pros Vs. The Cons

Should you be unfortunate enough to live long enough to need the kind of help and attention you'd receive here a lot depends on your physical/mental state.

We delivered a Birthday cake "over west" today, he wanted Gaffer to make him one big enough for handing round. It ended up in a 12" cake tin, to the time honoured Christmas cake recipe. (Ours is now 1/2 way finished BTW).

Anyway I spotted this on his bedside table.

On the face of it a full week. Then I got around to a proper perusal.

For most folk it'd probably provide a fairly full week and it seems that some poor soul draws one up weekly.

The old lad concerned has been stricken, so one arm and one leg fail to function: this immediately, more or less, rules out the 2 walks and the dancing, and being of the male persuasion I doubt the concept of flower arranging, baking and nail-care appeals greatly.

From what I knew of the lad in earlier years, most of the rest wouldn't move him much, today, for instance he was glued to a T.V. prog he confessed to not being bothered to change channels to escape. The schedule said either "Hand & eye coordination" or "Group chat and reminiscence",
neither of which he attended and not due to our visit.  OOPS! I just spotted the fact that it's last week's.

I keep saying my ambition is to wake up dead one morning. It's not so daft when you give it thought.
NOT that I have any great longing to hasten the event you understand.

In mitigation, I feel I must quote something I found online about the M.H.A. establishment he's in...

"When I walked into A****** without an appointment and saw how well run it was, I looked no further." This comment, made by a relative to the Care Quality Commission, suggests not only the professionalism of A*******'s staff but also the welcome sense of home and community that anyone living here can expect. Amongst the best care homes in Cumbria."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.