People on a Bridge

By zerohour

No-meat larb salad

While I eat very little meat overall, this pandemic has strenghtened my resolve to go meat free. I used to focus on animal welfare and on health aspects of meat consumption when trying different ways to eat less of it. In the past few weeks or so, the horrific conditions of meat processing workers came to light, in the context of covid-19 outbreaks in the plants. It's a very disturbing picture.

I figured out today how to make a meat-free version of my favorite Thai dish, usually made with ground chicken (or pork). I used a combination of finely chopped tofu and a piece of a king oyster mushroom. Followed the rest of the recipe as usually, and loved the result. As the dish is made with lime juice and fish sauce, these flavors come to front in both meat and no-meat version, lucky me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.