Going Downtown

I am not a native of this town, not even of this state. My husband and I moved here last July and started to get settled a little. We spent vacations in Wisconsin in July and August. October brought my mom's sudden battle with cancer and I spent almost all of my time once again in Wisconsin until after her funeral and Christmas with my family. January I found myself in a house that wasn't very familiar and a town even less familiar. 

Thankfully we met a group of couples in our neighborhood and we began to find a place in this community. My husband got into a work routine at his office and I finished up the state/local requirements to be certified to teach in the state. I was all set to substitute, but had not actually taken any jobs, when Covid 19 took over.

The virus hasn't been extreme in numbers in our area. We haven't ever been ordered by our governor to stay home. Yet we have quarantined for our own safety and that of others in our area. Most everyone works from home and the schools abruptly switched to online learning - same as most everywhere. They say we are ready to reopen, though most will be hesitant to return to restaurants, stores, and other public places/events.  

People are going places though. I am not sure where, but the roads are busy (I went on my weekly grocery store run this morning). 

So, I feel that I need to start to get to know my community outside the 65 houses in my neighborhood. Since that will not involve people at this point, I took my camera and I walked the original downtown area. As takers of photos, we all know that the best way to see something is to photograph it. The collage is a blip of the things I saw during my hour stroll. I passed very few people since most of these businesses are still closed for now. I will return to wander and take more photos another day, hopefully while there are still no people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.