Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Moonset

Last night as we were driving to Rosso, an Italian restaurant with great pizzas, there was a gorgeous flaming sunset. We were driving directly west so we enjoyed it all the way to the restaurant, but I had already published my picture for the day, so I couldn't use it. We often have beautiful sunsets at this time of year, but have realized since we moved, how much more of the sky we can see here. Big Sky Country.

We struck up a conversation with a very nice woman, sitting next to us at the restaurant bar, about tour travels, and Sonoma County theatre and music. She sings in a choir based in Occidental, and said that the group's main goals are to have fun and travel a lot. They just got back from a concert in Croatia. She knew one of the servers who is appearing in a community theatre production in Petaluma. We all missed YoYo Ma who knocked everybody's socks off at the world class Weill Center last Saturday night. Who said there was "nothing to do in Sonoma County but drink wine? The nice woman gave us her card and she is a family practice doctor at the local hospital. Sadly, she isn't taking new patients, nor is anybody else in her group....

This morning as I got out of bed, I could see the moon setting behind the eucalyptus trees beyond the French doors, and a lovely pink sunrise out the window. Unable to use both I chose the moon. There is something that appeals to me about the fact that the same moon rises and sets for all of us. So I give today's blip to the moon, even though there is likely to be another spectacular sunset tonight. I hope all of you reading this will have cloudless skies so that you can see the moon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.