It's a Small World

Everyone in the small lane we live in is out today, marking in one way or another 75 years of peace. I prefer to think of it that way, and earlier I took my trusty staff and made the Call for Peace under the oak and in the eye of the Sun. 

I'm less keen on the diversionary nationalism that we are being fed but there's no doubt our near ancestors fought a great war against the evils of fascism and overthrew a regime best disconnected from the modern day country it began in. Tomorrow is Europe Day.

The years of peace have not been without event. I'm reminded this month also marks forty years since the UK Government felt it necessary to publish and distribute "Protect and Survive". I remember feeling I would not see an old age.

But I shall. One day. Long hence. In the meantime everyone is making socially distant visits to each others' front gardens while we sit here, extremely distancing. My horizons feel very constrained, and yet we will stick it out; protect Janet and survive.

Yes, ok, I could have done this small world panorama better. Too much in the foreground. Poorly cloned sky. Meh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.