Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Plumbing skills honed

Some mornings when I slip into the pool like a gracious sea lion causing barely a ripple splash into the pool like a lumbering warthog, I feel I'm floating like a cork right on the surface, and I seem to go really really fast with not much effort. But some mornings it feels like I'm full of Christmas pudding, well below the surface, struggling to get going and not progressing up the lane much at all. This morning it was the latter. But I persevered.

There seemed to be a foreign object of some sort down the plughole (EDIT: in my kitchen). A bit of silver paper. Screwdriver out, I removed the plughole. Must remember where all the bits fit back - oh too late! - I've got a rubber ring in my hand and I don't know where it goes. I was prodding and poking and suddenly the whole thing disappeared! I only had a moment's panic, of course. I'm not that daft. It was under the sink, still attached to a bit of pipe.

I'm not good at crawling into cupboards under sinks and screwing things together, but half an hour and some bad language later, it's all sorted. My plumbing skills are servicable, viz - the gaffer's tape around the bend that I couldn't tighten enough.

After my plumbing exertions, I rewarded myself with a second cup of coffee and watched a couple of YouTube videos on photography. Learned a couple of tips too. Always do.

I booked our flight for the first of our summer holiday destinations. Copenhagen. I will be looking out for You Know Who*! We're swapping with a family who have a lovely flat right near the centre of the city. Now just the second half of the summer to organise, and that's nearly settled. We do like city breaks.

Popped into My Club this afternoon with my pal, who is going to join, so impressed was she. On the way home, I didn't hang about town as I had intended. The wind was coming from the Arctic.

In St Andrews Square there is an exhibition of huge super macro photos of patterns in nature. This was the only one near the path, as I wanted some people passing by. I was there for ages waiting for someone colourful. Why do people always wear black? Eventually the red scarfed lady walked by. Blip. Home before the Arctic wind could completely freeze me.

* Sara Lund and the Statsminister!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.