Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Carrington Site

Yesterday I blipped an old "Blue Mountains Historical Society" plaque (no. 9 in point of fact). It dealt with the location of Blackheath Public School which, until 1841, had been the site of a convict stockade. Now, I had been walking past that sign for heaven only knows how many years … but never noticed it before. Then I found out that isbi, who has lived in Blackheath much longer than I have, had never noticed it either. The question springs to mind … What ELSE have we missed?

I am going to visit the Historical Society museum on the last Sunday of the month (the only day it is normally open) and find out where all the other designated "historical sites" are located. In the meanwhile, now that I know what to look for, I am going on a personal treasure hunt to see how many of them I can dig up on my own. Why not?

SPOILER ALERT: I have found two already. You beauty! One coming up today.

This is Katoomba's famous, historic Carrington Hotel. The plaque (no 4) on the pole outside says
 
“The first hotel built in Katoomba for the accommodation of tourists. Building commenced in 1880 and was named the “Western Star Hotel”. The name was changed to the “Carrington” in honour of Lord Carrington who visited the hotel in 1886."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.