Longer Walk

I have an ‘App’ “I Walk Cornwall” where you download walks around Cornwall. I have downloaded a couple of walks and Clare and I decided to do the Town Walk.

The problem with walking in the current situation is that there are no public facilities open so around two thirds of the way round Clare headed off home. Gussie and I continued. Following the route on my phone took me along a lane next to a stream feeding Swanpool Lake that I have never walked before.

Gussie and I arrived home after completing 5.75 miles to coffee & cake for me and water & biscuit for Gussie.

One of the things we walked past is the ‘Falmouth Pyramid’, it’s always fascinated me so when I got home I had a quick read up about it. It was built in 1737 by Martin Lister Killigrew, it’s vital statistics, it stands 44 ft high and cost £455 and is made of dressed granite from a quarry near Trevethen Beacon. 
No-one can really tell you why it is there and no-one it seems is entirely sure what exactly it is for or why it was built.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.