Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Yes!

I visited the Owl Tree just at sunset and there was already a lot of activity from the youngsters.
I never dreamt it would be possible to see them clearly, let alone manage to get a shot of them.
Tonight I remembered my binoculars and was able to pick them out
Both were well away from the nest and I was worried that the one in the lower branches had fallen. As I watched though, they both managed to climb back and hide amongst the branches.

It is important to note that young Tawny Owls usually leave the nest long before they are ready to fly and there is actually no point in placing such birds back in the nest. From approx. ½ to ¾ grown (around 120-220mm tall), Tawny owlets go through a phase called ‘branching’, when they walk, climb, jump and flutter around in the trees at night. The adults locate them by their contact calls and will feed them anywhere. It is not at all uncommon for owlets to spend time on the ground during this phase and they are surprisingly good at climbing back up again. It is very likely that the owlet you have is perfectly okay and if it is left where it is, or returned to the same spot, it will be fed by the adults and will be able to climb to safety.


All this after my evening walk on the common where I saw a Nightjar.
I had never seen one before this year and now this was my 2nd sighting, although the 1st time I didn't know what it was.
Hopefully I will get a decent photo at some point this summer but until then I am REALLY THRILLED to get one of the owlet

Day total 2.3miles
Year total 442.7miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.