Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Lockdown Day 55: If only they could talk ...

I was so excited when they told me that someone wanted me. It’s not been easy sitting in a warehouse wondering if you are ever going to be picked, but then they said a family in Woking were desperate for a remote control for the television in their bedroom and would love to offer me a good home. 

It all started well enough. Those lovely people at Amazon boxed me up and sent me off to the shipping facility at Weybridge. Then something happened and I got sent to Rochester in Kent; no one knows why, they tried to fix things but I ended up in Maidstone. Amazon sent messages to my new family to let them know what was happening - I mean, I had been chipped and everything so they could follow the tracker, but it was very frustrating. On two occasions I ended up at unspecified locations somewhere in Great Britain. Then they sent me back to Weybridge! Surely it couldn’t be much longer? But "something went wrong" and there was a further delay and suddenly it was that terrible message they use when they now give you a five day window for delivery, like when you are being shipped from mainland China. 

Then there was a long day on Sunday when my new family told me they kept looking out of the window and other parcels got delivered but not me. Then finally at nearly eight o’clock in the evening a lovely delivery driver dropped me off! My new life could start in a lovely little suburban house with five people, two cats, and some other TV remote controls. Finally I have found my forever home! And now as I write this I am lying on the bed with my new owners and Dylan the cat, happily pairing with the wall mounted LG television that is going to be my special relationship for the future. 

I am so happy I think I might pop my rubber buttons with excitement! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.